1. John McDonough
2. François Wanecq
3. Chris O'Shea
4. Jeff Hewitt
5. Nelda Connors
6. Jane Hinkley
7. Christer Gardell



John was appointed as a Director and Chairman of the Company on 31 October 2012. John was group Chief Executive Officer of Carillion plc, the support services and construction firm, for 11 years until he retired in 2011. Prior to joining Carillion plc he spent nine years at Johnson Controls Inc. working for the automotive systems division, initially in the UK, before moving to become Vice President of the division's European operations and ultimately to Singapore to develop the business in Asia Pacific. He then returned to the UK as VP of the integrated facilities management division for EMEA. John served as Chairman of the Remuneration Committee of Tomkins plc from 2007 to 2010 and as a Non-Executive Director of exel plc from 2004 to 2005. He joined The Vitec Group plc in March 2012, and has served as its Chairman since June 2012. John was awarded a CBE in 2011 for services to Industry and is a British citizen.


Executive Director, Chief Executive

François was appointed as a Director of the Company on 31 October 2012. He previously joined the Cookson Group plc board in February 2010. François has been the Chief Executive of Cookson's Engineered Ceramics division since October 2005. Prior to joining Cookson he held a series of senior management roles at Arjo Wiggins Group and served as an Executive Director of Arjo Wiggins Appleton plc from 1999 until it was delisted. From 1985 to 1995 he was Managing Director of the technical ceramics division of the Saint-Gobain Group. François graduated from the École Polytechnique and École des Mines de Paris and is a French citizen.


Executive Director, Chief Financial Officer

Chris was appointed as a Director of the Company on 31 October 2012, having joined Vesuvius earlier in the year. Prior to joining Vesuvius, Chris held a number of senior finance roles at BG Group, latterly serving as CFO for the group's businesses in Africa, the Middle East and Asia. From 1998 to 2005 Chris lived and worked in the UK, the US and Nigeria for Royal Dutch Shell in a variety of roles, including CFO for Shell's offshore exploration and production business in Nigeria. Chris is a Chartered Accountant with degrees from the University of Glasgow and Duke University, and has also worked for Ernst & Young. Chris is a British citizen.


Senior Independent Director & Audit Committee Chair

Jeff was appointed as a Director and Chairman of the Audit Committee of the Company on 31 October 2012 having previously joined the Cookson Group plc board in June 2005 where he was also Chairman of the Audit Committee. Following the June 2013 AGM, Jeff was appointed as the Senior Independent Director. Jeff was previously Deputy Chairman and Group Finance Director of Electrocomponents plc. He is a Non-executive Director and Chairman of the Audit Committees of Cenkos Securities plc and Foreign & Colonial Investment Trust plc. He is also the Chairman of Electrocomponents Pension Trustees Limited. Jeff is a Chartered Accountant and is a British citizen.


Non-executive Director

Nelda was appointed as a Director of the Company on 1 March 2013. She served as President and Chief Executive of Tyco International, Electrical & Metal Products division (renamed Atkore International in 2010) from 2008 to 2011, prior to which she spent six years at Eaton Corporation, in a number of international management roles which included nearly four years based in Shanghai. Nelda spent much of her early career in the automotive industry working for Ford, Chrysler and Mogami Denki, a Toyota supplier. During this period she undertook roles in general management, engineering, quality, customer service and strategic planning and worked in the US, Europe and Asia Pacific. She is a Non-executive Director of Blount International, Inc., Echo Global Logistics and Boston Scientific Corporation and sits on the Board of the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago. Nelda is Chairwoman and Founder of Pine Grove Holdings, LLC, a consultancy that provides advisory services to private equity and investment firms and limited investments to small and mid-sized businesses. Nelda is a US citizen.


Non-executive Director & Remuneration Committee Chair

Jane was appointed as a Director of the Company on 3 December 2012. Jane became Chairman of the Remuneration Committee in June 2013. Jane spent a large part of her career working at Gotaas-Larsen Shipping Corporation, the LNG shipping specialist which was listed on both the London Stock Exchange and NASDAQ. She served as CFO from 1988 to 1992, and as Managing Director until 1997. In 1998 Jane was appointed Managing Director of Navion Shipping AS, a company majority owned by Statoil, the oil and gas company, a position she held until 2001. Jane is currently a Non-executive Director and Chairman of the Remuneration Committee of Premier Oil plc, an oil exploration and production company. She also serves as a Non-executive Director of Teekay GP L.L.C, the international provider of marine transportation services for Liquefied Natural Gas, LPG and crude oil, which is an NYSE listed partnership. She previously held the position of Non-executive Director of Revus Energy ASA, a Norwegian exploration and production company. Jane is a Chartered Accountant and a British citizen.


Non-executive Director

Christer was appointed as a Director of the Company on 31 October 2012 having previously joined the board of Cookson Group plc in June 2012. Christer is Managing Partner of Cevian Capital which on 28 February 2014 held just over 21% of the Company's issued share capital. Christer co-founded Cevian Capital in 2002. From 1996 to 2001, he was the Chief Executive Officer of AB Custos, the Swedish investment company. Prior to joining AB Custos he had been a partner of Nordic Capital and McKinsey & Company. Christer is a Vice Chairman of the global Finnish technology and services company Metso Corporation. He served as a Non-executive Director of AB Lindex until December 2007 and of Tieto Corporation until March 2012. Christer is a Swedish citizen.